Obsession vs. Addiction

Once upon a time I had an obsession with movies. Everyone enjoys good story, right? They are another world to get lost in. I hadn’t realized that is effectively what I had been doing as an avid movie watcher. Getting drawn into an alternative story. A story that’s not your own. That is ultimately what movies are; an escape, a distraction and an insight into something else.
That all sounds rather pessimistic, but hopeful at the same time. People will always buy into a story – whether they want an escape or something to identify with. The option is there.

Now, I’d say I’m not obsessed with movies. I don’t have that burning passion for them, which I once thought I did. Rather, I have become addicted, hooked on all the story variations and different temporary realities.

Leave a Reply

