Have a Smirt Day celebrates 50 years of James Bond and 50th blog post. Let’s talk SKYFALL!

Today is a special blog; it is Have a Smirt Day’s 5oth post and it is about 50 years of Bond.

Celebrating 50 years of 007

We meet again Bond, in the 23rd installment  Of course, I’m talking about Skyfall – the new Bond movie which people have been so hyped up about for quite a few weeks now.
 I saw Skyfall on Friday (October 26th),  okay I was eager to see it but was hesitant too, worried it wasn’t going to live up to its standard. Growing up, Pierce Brosnan was my James Bond. For me, it’s hard to see Daniel Craig as Bond. Daniel Craig, to me, is more of a ‘Bourne Identity’ actor; he is a little more rugged than the other 007 agents we have seen in the past. From Sean Connery to Roger Moore, Craig lacks that boosted level of suave. In my imagination Pierce Brosnan will always be James Bond, as I’m sure you will have your own preferences too. Whilst on the other hand, there must be fans out there that much prefer to read the Ian Fleming books.
 The beginning of the movie was action-packed as expected, it would have made good 3D cinema in my opinion. The stunts were great, especially the motorbikes bursting through buildings. We also meet Eve, who believes she is equal to Bond until she is suspended for shooting him on M’s command.
However, I found the first half of the movie to be a disappointment in contrast with the previous Bond movies. ‘Why?’ you ask, simply because it didn’t have that 007 feel to it. It brought Bond into this day and age, it felt modern. And yes, although modern is a good thing, I felt it lacked certain ‘Bond’ trademark features. For example, at the bar we see Bond ordering his drink. So, we know it is a Martini “Shaken. Not stirred” but we don’t get to hear this classic line. Call me old-fashioned and cheesy, but that’s my personal opinion. We didn’t really have a proper car chase or the many gadgets from the new and youthful Q (Ben Whishaw). Gadget wise, all Bond was equipped with was a radio and gun. But I guess that is in line with the new modern feel the movie has, it was largely centered around computer technology instead of “exploding pens”, which Q alludes to.

It wasn’t until 007 was running down the street to save M (Judi Dench) from our antagonist and villain Raoul Silva (Javier Bardem) when I felt like it was a proper Bond movie, and from that point I thought it kept getting better. One of my favorite moments is when the garage shutter opens to reveal the infamous DB5. When that Aston appeared on the screen, the atmosphere in the cinema immediately changed, the audience automatically recognized the car and knew that this is now a proper James Bond movie.

Although I have said many negative things about this movie, I did enjoy it. If you are a Bond fan then I recommend you see it, that is, if you haven’t already.

So what does it take to be James Bond ? Apparently not much these days. A girl, a cool car and a suit – tie optional. Minimal gadgets, but a of course every Bond needs a Miss Moneypenny and a Q. Oh and don’t forget the ability to stay smirt whilst being the hero.

I’ll leave you with a song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ObmXBy2IyaM and also a question: who is your favorite James Bond?

~ A smirt day to you 🙂

Leave a Reply

