Ponderings of The Smirt Kid: why I don’t like 3D, much

This blog is well overdue. If you have read some of my previous posts you will most likely be aware of my opinion on 3D cinema. In this post I want to explain further and share my reasons with you.

Why don’t I like 3D cinema? Well my first reason is quite simple and I am sure many of you will have the same frustration. I wear glasses. So having to wear the 3D glasses on top of my own is an uncomfortable inconvenience. The same principle goes for 3D TV, having to wear 3D glasses in front of your own TV just seems ridiculous to me. 

I watched the last Harry Potter movie in the cinema when it was released, the regular showing was sold but since we were all there, I agreed to watch the 3D version. It was a huge disappointment, the 3D made no difference to the movie, the parts that did have 3D effects were pointless and made no impact on the audience. This brings me onto my next point, a 3D movie only works if it was intended to be in 3D. Re-releasing movies is a good business strategy, since the cinema charge more for 3D than regular film, but it just doesn’t work as well.

That being said, this summer I watched The Amazing Spider-man in 3D and thought it was great, I really enjoyed it; to the extent that in parts I was on the edge of my seat and forgot that I was wearing the extra pair of glasses. There were two moments that I found the 3D effects were an essential part of this movie; when Peter Parker sees the spiders in the lab for the first time, and when he is swinging through the city from beams with the help of the construction workers. This movie totally changed my opinion of 3D cinema.

Overall, I think it’s developing – a work in progress. I look forward to the day when glasses won’t be needed, when the technology is incorporated into the cinema or TV screen. But for now, we shall just have to wait and see.

4 thoughts on “Ponderings of The Smirt Kid: why I don’t like 3D, much

Leave a Reply

