Loose, FOOTLOOSE. Kick off your Sunday Shoes

 

Please. Louise…Jack. Get back.

It has been a while since I blogged about a movie. Yesterday evening I watched Footloose, the 2011 remake. Of course, I have watched the original, but let me tell you that I thoroughly enjoyed this remake, it has that “feel-good” factor that just makes you wanna get up an’ dance!

The storyline has been kept pretty close to the original throughout, however, in the 2011 version Ren McCormack (Kenny Wormald) is portrayed as being much more athletic, but as a gymnast. I thought that his dance in the ’empty’ warehouse was brilliant, the choreographer did a fantastic job, although there were a lot of gymnastics in the routine which weren’t needed in the original with Kevin Bacon plaing Ren. Nevertheless, watching this scene you can still feel the emotion coming through; anger and frustration.

To begin with Zac Efron was going to have Kenny’s role, but he left. I don’t know why, but to be honest I’m glad that he did. I thought he was good in his other rolesthough, like in Charlie St Cloud but it Footloose could have become very High School Musical if he was in it. Howerever, during the movie I did think that Ariel could have been played by Miley Cyrus. I didn’t think that Julianne Hough was a bad actor, just every time I saw her face on screen I was reminded of Miley Cyrus. What do you think, who would you have liked to see in these roles? Unless you are a die-hard fan of the original and could not bare to see another actor in Bacon’s shoes…

Enjoy your day, hope it’s smirt.

Leave a Reply

